THE SHOW MUST GO ON…but will it?

27 Apr

9,986,000 minutes was not long enough, Michael Gary Scott..


Considering Michael Scott’s final episode with The Office airs tomorrow,  I found it necessary to blog about this sorrow event for dedicated Office junkies. Michael,  the utterly hilarious manager (formerly co-manager) of the Scranton branch of paper and printer distribution company Dunder Mifflin Inc, played by none other than Steve Carell, has stolen the heart of thousands of viewers. 

Steve Carell confirmed on June 28, 2010, that the seventh season of the show will be his last when his contract expires. I will not sugar coat this whatsoever and truthfully I am highly disappointed with his decision. I keep thinking about what my Thursday nights, and what they will consist of without a little Michael Scott to cheer me up after a long day.

According to Steve, The Office could easily go on without him. “It doesn’t certainly mean the end of the show. I think it’s just a dynamic change to the show, which could be a good thing, actually. Add some new life and some new energy…I see it as a positive in general for the show.”

I would love to consider this thought relevant but truthfully I’m having my doubts. Okay, not doubts, I’m almost convinced that after the seventh season The Office will be off air. Don’t get me wrong, Jim and Pam’s marriage and obsession with their daughter, “Dwight Schrute, tall, beets”, receptionist Erin’s ditsy but adorable traits, Michael’s man crush, Ryan, and the rest of season seven’s crew will keep me watching without a doubt, but I am scared to have a new character thrown into the mix.

But please, please, please, prove me wrong NBC. If The Office can last for at another few seasons I will be one happy lady. For now, I will get my Kleenex boxes ready for Michael’s farewell episode(which by the way was “super-sized” to weird length of 52 minutes)tomorrow evening.

Oh, and of course, best of luck to the engaged couple, Mr. Michael Scott and Ms. Holly Flax. Yes, romance finally forced him from the place he loved most. 😉

the engagement(yes, I cried, hard)

 “As typical of Michael he rarely comes across as he believes himself to and this results in quite a bit of hilarity. It’s hard to dwindle down the things he has said over the course of his tenure to a small list (as there are hundreds) but we’ve tried to come up with the funniest.” http://haphappy.com/2011/04/15-funniest-michael-scott-quotes/ 

15.) “I am Michael, and I am part English, Irish, German, and Scottish, sort of a virtual United Nations.”

14.) “Presents are the best way to show someone how much you care. It is like this tangible thing that you can point to and say, ‘Hey man, I love you this many dollars-worth.’

13.) “Nobody likes beets, Dwight. You should grow something everybody does like. You should grow candy.”

12.) “Wikipedia is the best thing ever. Anyone in the world can write anything they want about any subject, so you know you are getting the best possible information.”

11.) “I’m friends with everybody in this office. We’re all best friends. I love everybody here. But sometimes your best friends start coming into work late and start having dentist appointments that aren’t dentist appointments, and that is when it’s nice to let them know that you could beat them up.”

10.) “Between the sheets, we were like Jordan and Pippen.”


9.) “Toby is in HR, which technically means he works for corporate, so he’s really not a part of our family. Also, he’s divorced, so he’s really not a part of his family.”

8.) “Would I rather be feared or loved? Easy, both. I want people to be afraid of how much they love me.”

7.) “You don’t call retarded people retards. It’s bad taste. You call your friends retards … when they’re acting retarded.”

6.) “You may look around and see two groups here: white collar, blue collar. But I don’t see it that way, and you know why not? Because I am collar-blind.”

5.) “I love babies. I think they are beautiful in all sorts of different ways. I try to pick up and hold a baby every day, if possible, because it nourishes me. It feeds my soul. Babies are drawn to me. And I think it’s because they see me as one of them. But … cooler and with my life put together a little bit more. If a baby were president, there would be no taxes. There would be no war.”

4.) “My proudest moment here wasn’t when I increased profits by 17 percent, or cut expenditures without losing a single member of staff. No, no, no. It was a young Guatemalan guy, first job in the country, barely spoke a word of English, but he came to me and said, ‘Mr. Scott, will you be the godfather to my child?’ Didn’t work out in the end. We had to let him go. He sucked.”

3.) “You’ll notice, I didn’t have anybody being Arab. I thought that would be too explosive, uh, no pun intended. But I just thought, “too soon” for Arabs, maybe next year. You know, the ball’s in their court.”

2.) “Happy birthday, Jesus. Sorry your party is so lame!”

1.) “If I had a gun, with two bullets, and I was in a room with Hitler, Bin Laden and Toby, I would shoot Toby twice.”


Some of Michael Scott’s Words of Wisdom. 🙂


And, last but not least, “EVERYBODY DANCE NOW!!!”


Leave a comment